Eso Maa Lokkhi

Prof (Dr) Shalini Verma ‘Lifoholic’

20th of October, 2021: Kojagiri Puja – also popularly known as Kojagiri Purnima or ‘Lokkhi or Lakshmi Puja’ – is an auspicious day dedicated to worshipping Maa Lakshmi during Purnima (full moon) in the month of ‘Ashwin’. Maa Lakshmi is known to be the Goddess of Prosperity and it is believed that on the day of ‘Ashwin Purnima’, Maa Lokkhi descends on Earth to abundantly bless all with prosperity and good health. The day of Kojagiri Puja is also referred as Sharad Purnima in some parts of the country.

Kojagiri Puja is celebrated to propitiate Goddess Lakshmi. The Purnima of the Ashwin month is believed to be the ‘Night of Awakening’ as Goddess Lakshmi comes to Earth to bless Her devotees. The celebration of Kojagara Puja also coincides with the harvest festival in the northern parts of the country.

The rituals of Kojagara Puja vary from community to community. In the states of West Bengal, Orissa and Assam, various offerings like ‘khichuri’, ‘taaler phopol’, ‘narkel bhaja’, ‘naru’ and some sweets are made to please the Goddess and seek Her divine blessings.

Eso Maa Lokkhi Bosho Ghore

Amare Ghore Thako Alo Kore…

In Mithila, an ancient cultural region of South Nepal and North India that lies between the lower ranges of the Himalayas and the Ganga River, celebration of Kojagiri Purnima is mainly done by newly-wed couples. Here, it is associated with Lakshmi Puja as well as Chandra Puja. The entire family of groom and bride stay up all night and do not close their doors awaiting moon light and goddess Lakshmi to arrive. It is believed that gods come to earth in the full moon night of Kojagra Purnima. As people have to be awake whole night, they play Pachhisi with Kauri (Cowrie shell). Besides, people in Mithila, distribute Paan (Betel leaf), Makhana (Fox nut) and sweets among family members.

In India, Maa Lakshmi is worshipped as the goddess of wealth, prosperity and fortune. She is the embodiment of love and beauty. She is seen clad in red clothes and adorned with gold jewellery. She has calm and soothing expressions.

Maa Lakshmi is also known as Shri. She chose Lord Vishnu as Her husband and resides with Him in Vaikuntha.

As per the legend, Maa Lakshmi was the daughter of Bhrigu Maharishi, one of the Saptarshis. She was reborn during the churning of the ocean during the great churning of Milky-Ocean, known as Kshir-Sagara. Shri Lakshmi incarnated as Goddess Sita and Goddess Radha along with Lord Rama and Lord Krishna incarnations of Lord Vishnu.

There are 8 forms of Maa Lakshmi – collectively known as Ashtalakshmi:

  • Adi Lakshmi – the primal mother goddess
  • Dhana Lakshmi – the one who showers wealth
  • Dhanya Lakshmi – the one who gives abundance of food/cereals
  • Gaja Lakshmi – the one who gives power and strength
  • Santana Lakshmi – the one who blesses with off-springs and progeny
  • Veera Lakshmi – the one who gives valor and courage
  • Vijaya Lakshmi – the one gives victory over all sort of enemies
  • Aishwarya Lakshmi – the one gives all sort of comforts and luxuries

It is significant to mention that Vijaya Lakshmi is also known as Jaya Lakshmi. The other forms of Goddess Lakshmi, which are also worshipped, include

  • Saubhagya Lakshmi
  • Rajya Lakshmi
  • Vara Lakshmi
  • Griha Lakshmi
  • Vaibhava Lakshmi
  • Bhagya Lakshmi

Apart from these 8 forms, Goddess Lakshmi is also worshipped in following Swaroops.

  • Vidya Lakshmi – the one who gives wisdom and knowledge
  • Saubhagya Lakshmi – the one who blesses with good luck
  • Rajya Lakshmi – the one who gives kingdom and property
  • Vara Lakshmi – the one who bestows boons
  • Dhairya Lakshmi – the one who gives patience

Eso Maa Lokkhi Bosho Ghore

Amare Ghore Thako Alo Kore…

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.