What is NATA?

architecture exams, NATA, design

The National Aptitude Test in Architecture (NATA) measures the aptitude of the applicant for a specific field of study, i.e architecture. NATA measures drawing, and observation skills, sense of proportion, aesthetic sensibility, and critical-thinking ability acquired over a period of time and related to architecture.

NATA is a national-level entrance examination conducted by the Council of Architecture (CoA) every year. Through this exam, students get admitted to architecture exams all over the country. The NATA score is considered by a large number of private and government-aided colleges and institutions.

NATA 2019 application form has been released:

NATA registrations have opened for candidates since 24 January 2019, for both sessions. Registration forms can be filled only through the online mode. The last date to fill in the NATA form is 11 March 2019 for the first session, and 12 June 2019 for the second. The registration fee for the exam is Rs 1,800.00 as application fee and Rs 3,500.00 for both sessions I & II for general students. For SC/ST candidates, it is Rs 1,500.00 (Rs 2,800.00 for those appearing for both sessions).

This year, Session I is scheduled on April 14 via the online mode, and Session II on July 7.

Eligibility criteria:

  • Candidates should have passed 10+2 or equivalent examination. Please note that from the year 2019-20, diploma holders are no longer eligible for admission to the architecture programme.
  • Candidates must have obtained a minimum of 50% marks in mathematics, physics, and chemistry taken together. Additionally the candidates must have scored a minimum of 50% marks in aggregate in 10+2.
  • Age limit is 17 years as on July 31, 2019
  • Candidates from the humanities stream can also apply, provided they have qualified physics, chemistry and mathematics exams as conducted by CBSE.

Exam Pattern:

  • The NATA exam is conducted twice a year in the online mode, and part B is answered on A4 drawing sheets.
  • The NATA exam has two sections: Part A has multiple choice questions (MCQs) in the online mode, and part B is a paper-based drawing test
  • The NATA exam is of 3 hours — Part A for 60 minutes and part B for 120 minutes
  • The NATA exam is of 200 marks — Part A carries 120 marks and part B 80 marks
  • Part A has 20 mathematics questions and 40 general aptitude questions. Each question carries two marks
  • Part B carries 2 drawing questions, each for 40 marks.

There is an ever increasing demand for architecture and design-related courses and a large number of students are opting for these courses after grade 12. An early preparation for NATA and getting a sense of part B is a must to ensure success in this exam.

All the Best!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.